Collected Plays of Mahesh Elkunchwar

 399.00 695.00 (-43%)

In stock

Mahesh Elkunchwar has written and produced some of the most influential and progressive plays of post-Independence India, and is part of the trinity, with Vijay Tendulkar and Satish Alekar, that has shaped modern Marathi theatre. This volume brings together six acclaimed plays-‘Garbo’, ‘Desire in the Rocks (Vasanakand), ‘Old Stone Mansion’ (Wada Chirebandi), ‘Reflection’ (Pratibimb), ‘Sonata’, and ‘An Actor Exits’ (Eka Natacha Mrityu)-written by Elkunchwar.

Elkunchwar’s plays, with their wide-ranging themes-the passage of time and mortality, identity and sexuality, religious tension and gender issues, human bonding and alienation-focus on human relationships and personal and moral choices which are the classic concerns of all great works of literature. Along with a comprehensive introduction by noted theatre critic Samik Bandyopadhyay, this volume includes production histories of each play, the playwright’s notes on his intense experience with Indian theatre, and a photo section depicting stage performances.


Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
Dimensions 8 × 5 × 0.5 cm
Be the first to review “Collected Plays of Mahesh Elkunchwar”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


There are no reviews yet.

No more offers for this product!

Main Menu

Collected Plays of Mahesh Elkunchwar

 399.00 695.00 (-43%)

Add to Cart